Ty Segall Announces New Album ‘Freedom’s Goblin’, Performs ‘Fanny Dog’ on Conan (Watch) & Shares Hot Chocolate Cover

Ty Segall Announces New Album ‘Freedom’s Goblin’, Performs ‘Fanny Dog’ on Conan (Watch) & Shares Hot Chocolate Cover


We knew it was just a matter of time until Ty Segall made it official. The guitar rocker has been leaking new songs left and right. Last night, during an appearance on CONAN, the details of his upcoming LP were announced. Entitled Freedom’s Goblin, it will be available January 26, 2018 via Drag City. Conan even flashed the album’s groovy cover art, which you can check out below. After the bombshell was dropped, Ty Segall and the Freedom Band, who were all dressed in white, performed “Fanny Dog”, a song that he’s been playing out on his recent tour and that will be on the new LP. This morning he followed the pomp and circumstance up by releasing a cover of Hot Chocolate’s “Every 1’s a Winner” (listen below) and announcing a North American tour.

Over the last few months, Ty has shared four recorded tunes, “Alta”, “My Lady’s On Fire”, “The Main Pretender”, and “Meaning”, which features his wife Denée on vocals. They all dwell in the Ty solar system, but each have their own magnificent trajectories. These songs, along with “Fanny Dog” and “Every 1’s a Winner” are among the 19 tracks that make up Freedom’s Goblin. The unifying theme of which is freedom, with each track taking its own path to embracing it. Work on the album was done at five studios in LA, Chicago and Memphis, and engineered by Steve Albini, F. Bermudez, Lawrence “Boo” Mitchell and of course, Ty himself. The full track list is below.

As for Ty’s band, the players continue to be Emmett Kelly (guitar, vocals), Mikal Cronin (bass, vocals), Charles Moothart (drums) and Ben Boye (keyboards). For the CONAN appearance, the guys were joined by a horn section.

Ty plans to launch right into a North American tour following the album’s release. The schedule includes stops at Brooklyn Steel (April 13) and The Capitol Theatre (April 14). You can find all the dates below. For ticket information, visit Ty Segall’s website.

Freedom’s Goblin is available for pre-order now over here.


Freedom’s Goblin Track List:
1. Fanny Dog
2. Rain
3. Every 1’s a Winner
4. Despoiler Of Cadaver
5. When Mommy Kills You
6. My Lady’s on Fire
7. Alta
8. Meaning
9. Cry Cry Cry
10. Shoot You Up
11. You Say All the Nice Things
12. The Last Waltz
13. She
14. Prison
15. Talkin 3
16. The Main Pretender
17. I’m Free
18. 5 Ft. Tall
19. And Goodnight

Ty Segall Tour Dates:
Sat. Dec. 9 – Mexico City, MX @ Hipnosis Festival
Fri. Dec. 15 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom [solo acoustic set] *
Sat. Dec. 16 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom [solo acoustic set] *
Sun. Dec. 17 – San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel [solo acoustic set] #
Mon. Dec. 18 – San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel [solo acoustic set] #
Wed. Jan. 24 – Solana Beach, CA @ Belly Up Tavern
Fri. Jan. 26 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom
Sat. Jan. 27 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom
Sun. Jan. 28 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom
Thu. Feb. 1 – San Francisco, CA @ Bill Graham Civic Auditorium ^
Tue. Apr. 3 – Las Vegas, NV @ The Bunkhouse Saloon
Thu. Apr. 5 – Denver, CO @ Ogden Theatre
Fri. Apr. 6 – Rapid City, SD @ URSA MAJOR
Sat. Apr. 7 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
Sun. Apr. 8 – Chicago, IL @ Riviera
Tue. Apr. 10 – Detroit, MI @ Majestic Theater
Wed. Apr. 11 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Theater
Fri. Apr. 13 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel
Sat. Apr. 14 – Port Chester, NY @ The Capitol Theatre (Ticket presale – December 7 from 10am-10pm, passcode: FREEDOM)
Sun. Apr. 15 – Philadelphia, PA @ Trocadero Theater
Tue. Apr. 17 – Raleigh, NC @ Lincoln Theatre
Wed. Apr. 18 – Atlanta, GA @ Variety Playhouse
Fri. Apr. 20 – Birmingham, AL @ Saturn
Sat. Apr. 21 – Pensacola, FL @ Vinyl Music Hall
Sun. Apr. 22 – New Orleans, LA @ One Eyed Jack’s
Thu. Apr. 26 – Austin, TX @ Stubb’s Outdoor (Levitation 2018)
Fri. Apr. 27 – Austin, TX @ Barracuda (part of Levitation)
Sun. April 29 – Flagstaff, AZ @ Orpheum Theatre

* = with OCS, Shannon Lay, all proceeds go to LA Kitchen
# = with OCS, Shannon Lay, all proceeds go to SF Homeless Coalition
^ = with Queens Of The Stone Age

Ty Segall Freedoms Goblin Fanny Dog Conan 2017 Tour